For the latest news, events and announcements about UA, please visit https://www.ua.edu/news.

The new UA News Center features news channels specifically for students, faculty and staff, media and research. The UA News Center uses video, photography and narrative to tell the UA story to our various audiences. It also serves as a hub for finding information on campus resources and calendars. http://uanews.ua.edu will remain in place temporarily as an archive, but will no longer be updated.

The University of Alabama

Archive for the ‘Engineering’ Specialty

Agrawal, Ajay

Robert F. Barfield Endowed Chair and Professor of Mechanical Engineering 205/348-4964 (o) aagrawal@eng.ua.edu Alternative fuels, Combustion

Anderson, Monica

assistant professor of computer science 205/348-1667 (o) anderson@cs.ua.edu Robotics  

Back, Ed

associate professor of civil, construction and environmental engineering 205/348-8422 (o) eback@eng.ua.edu Construction, Civil engineering Dr. Back is the director of the Construction Engineering and Management Program.

Brown, David

professor of computer science deputy director of Center for Advanced Public Safety 205/348-6363 (o), 205/349-2345 (h) brown@cs.ua.edu FAA safety database, Data retrieval technology, Traffic safety applications, Airline safety, Highway safety, Wireless communication systems A nationally recognized expert on using database retrieval technology to help improve highway safety, Brown has developed database systems for such sponsors […]

Carver, Jeff

assistant professor of computer science 205/348-9829 (o) carver@cs.ua.edu Software

Freeman, Mike

associate professor of aerospace engineering and mechanics 205/348-7304 (o) mfreeman@eng.ua.edu NASA, Space shuttle, Space, Airline industry, Space exploration

Fridley, Ken

professor and head of civil, construction and environmental engineering 205/348-3585 (o) kfridley@eng.ua.edu Forest products industry, Timber as alternative material for building, Wood engineering, Construction engineering, Engineering structures

Haskew, Timothy

professor and interim head of electrical and computer engineering 205/348-1766 (o) thaskew@eng.ua.edu Hybrid vehicles, Electrical engineering, Power systems

Jackson, David Jeff

professor of electrical and computer engineering 205/348-2919 (o) jjackson@eng.ua.edu Computer architecture, Microcomputers, Computer graphics, Computer networks, Supercomputers, Computer engineering, Computer imaging, Wireless communication systems

Johnson, Pauline

professor of civil, construction and environmental engineering 205/348-3577 (o) paulinej@eng.ua.edu Pollution prevention, Water and wastewater treatment, Water quality

Karr, Charles L.

dean, College of Engineering 205/348-6405 (o) ckarr@eng.ua.edu Engineering education, Aerospace engineering, Math education for engineering

Kung, Patrick

assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering 205/348-1764 (o) patkung@eng.ua.edu Solar energy

Lindly, Jay K.

professor of civil, construction and environmental engineering director of the University Transportation Center for Alabama 348-1724 jlindly@eng.ua.edu Pavement design, Roadway financing, Highway strength, Highway and utility interface, Highway safety, School bus seat belt safety Dr. Lindly provides leadership in the University Transportation Center for Alabama, an intercampus and interdisciplinary unit helping to meet the transportation […]

Midkiff, K. Clark

professor and interim head of mechanical engineering director of the Center for Advanced Vehicle Technologies 205/348-1645 (o) cmidkiff@eng.ua.edu Alternative fuels, Hybrid vehicles, Energy conversion, Energy conservation, Thermal energy storage systems, Solar energy Dr. Midkiff is the director of the Center for Advanced Vehicle Technologies, an interdisciplinary research center that assists in the development of efficient, […]

Puzinauskas, Paul

associate professor of mechanical engineering 205/348-4794 (o) ppuzinauskas@eng.ua.edu Hybrid vehicles, Alternative fuels

Reddy, Ramana

ACIPCO Professor of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering 205/348-4246 (o) rreddy@eng.ua.edu Alternative fuels, Fuel cells, Metals, Metal industry  

Richardson, James A.

associate professor of civil, construction and environmental engineering 205/348-1708 (o) jrichardson@eng.ua.edu Seismic response of structures, Bridge maintenance, Bridges, Bridge safety, Natural disasters, Structures

Ricks, Kenneth

associate professor of electrical and computer engineering 205/348-9777 (o) kricks@eng.ua.edu Robots, Wireless programming

Shepard, Steve

professor of mechanical engineering 205/348-0048 (o) sshepard@eng.ua.edu Noise reduction, Vibrations

Thompson, Greg

associate professor of metallurgical and materials engineering 205/348-1589 (o) gthompson@eng.ua.edu Metals, Metal industries, Nanotechnology, Steel industry

Todd, Beth

associate professor of mechanical engineering 205/348-1623 (o) btodd@eng.ua.edu Engineering education, Minority issues in engineering, Science education, K-12 science education, Females in engineering

Turner, Heath

associate professor of chemical and biological engineering 205/348-1733 (o) hturner@eng.ua.edu Nanotechnology, Solar energy

Warren, Garry W.

professor of metallurgical and materials engineering 205/348-1728 (o) gwarren@eng.ua.edu Metals, Metal industry Dr. Warren was named the TMS (metallurgical professional society) president for 2011-2012.

Weaver, Mark

professor of metallurgical and materials engineering 205/348-7073 mweaver@eng.ua.edu Metals, Metal industries

Whitaker, Kevin W.

associate engineering dean for academic programs associate professor of aerospace engineering and mechanics 205/348-1598 (o) kwhitaker@eng.ua.edu Wind tunnel design and operation, Aircraft propulsion, Airline safety, Space exploration, Space, K-12 science education, Engineering education, Math education for engineering  

Page 1 of 212