For the latest news, events and announcements about UA, please visit https://www.ua.edu/news.

The new UA News Center features news channels specifically for students, faculty and staff, media and research. The UA News Center uses video, photography and narrative to tell the UA story to our various audiences. It also serves as a hub for finding information on campus resources and calendars. http://uanews.ua.edu will remain in place temporarily as an archive, but will no longer be updated.

The University of Alabama

Archive for the ‘Pop Culture, Literature & the Arts’ Expertise

Beidler, Philip

professor of English 205/348-8508 pbeidler@english.as.ua.edu Literature of the Vietnam War, American literature, war literature, English

Billings, Andrew

Ronald Reagan Endowed Chair in Broadcasting 205/348-6350 acbillings@ua.edu The Olympics; ratings and demographics in sports media; identity issues (gender, race, etc.) in sports media; popular communication; consumer behavior for television, radio, Internet, etc.

Bissell, Kimberly

associate dean for research, College of Communication and Information Sciences Director, Institute for Communication and Information Research 205/348-1235 kbissell@ua.edu Spin, boot camp, weight training, zumba, children running 5Ks, children running half marathons, fun ways for children to get physically active

Bomar, Bill

director of Moundville Archaeological Park  205/371-2234 (o) bbomar@bama.ua.edu.

Boschung, Milla

dean, College of Human Environmental Sciences 205/348-6150 (o) mboschun@ches.ua.edu Personal finance, Personal financial planning, Consumerism, Shopping and budgeting, Holidays, Holiday budgeting, Family financial planning, Best use of credit, Kids and allowance, Holiday debt traps, Consumer issues/customer service

Brantley, Chip

lecturer in emerging media, journalism department 205/348-4692 chip.brantley@ua.edu

Carter, Cornelius

professor of dance 205/348-2894 (o), 205/349-2039 (h) Carter was awarded the National Outstanding Doctoral and Research Universities Professor of the Year award by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching in Washington, D.C. on Nov. 13, 2001.

Curtner-Smith, Mary Liz

associate professor of human development and family studies 205/348-8151 (o), 205/333-5964 (h) mcurtner@ches.ua.edu Children who are bullies, Children in divorced families, Children’s health, Helping adolescents make decisions about wearing makeup, Dating, Corporal punishment

Curzon, Lucy

assistant professor, art and art history 205/348-6458 lcurzon@bama.ua.edu  

Dewar, Andrew Raffo

assistant professor, New College and music 205/348-9928 adewar@ua.edu

Dorr, Lisa Lindquist

associate professor of history and director of graduate studies  205/348-1862 (o) ldorr@bama.ua.edu Southern history since 1865, U.S. women’s history, Alabama women and alcohol during Prohibition, 1920s popular culture in the South, Women and family life in the South in the 1920s

Fitch, Andy

associate professor of theater 205/348-3842 or 205/348-5283 afitch@theatre.as.ua.edu a regional theatre designer working throughout the Southeast, Fitch’s interests include: corporate and industrial trade shows, drawing and drafting for the theater, trade journals and shows.

Greer, Jennifer D.

Associate provost for administration 205/348-6304 (o) jdgreer@ua.edu Gender, Online news, Sports, Media effects

Hestevold, H. Scott

professor and chair, philosophy department bhestevo@philos.as.ua.edu 205/348-1912 Hestevold’s primary research interests involve analytic metaphysics in particular, problems involving time and identity. He is also interested in the nature of mercy, pity and other concepts related to moral psychology.

Jacobs, Steven

associate professor of religious studies and Aaron Aronov chair of Judaic Studies 205/348-0473 sjacobs@bama.ua.edu Jacobs’ primary research foci are in Biblical Studies, translation and interpretation, including the Dead Sea Scrolls, as well as Holocaust and Genocide Studies.  

Kinney, Lance

associate professor, advertising and public relations kinney@apr.ua.edu 205/348-7706 How brands use sporting events as advertising and PR platforms to reach consumers and drive brand sales; controversial consumer issues in advertising management; advertising strategies and techniques; how various media are used by advertisers; changes in media policies related to advertising; media pricing; mass media and society

Lane, Ralph

professor of human nutrition 205/348-8128 (o), 205/348-6157 (o), 205/333-1141 (h) rlane@ches.ua.edu Children’s health, Children’s nutrition, Food, Cereals, Beverages, Breakfast cereals, Sugar in beverages, Halloween, Candy and healthy holiday treats

Martone, Michael

professor of English, creative writing 205/348-5526 mmartone@english.as.ua.edu    

McGuire, Kenneth

associate professor of music education 205/348-1430 kmcguire@bama.ua.edu  

Meares, Mary

director of graduate program, direct of graduate internships, department of communication studies mmmeares@ua.edu 205/348-8072

Miller, Steve

professor and coordinator, MFA in the Book Arts program, School of Library and Information Studies 205/348-1525 stevemiller@bookarts.ua.edu Creating limited edition, handmade books

Morgan, Stacy

associate professor, American studies 205/348-0069 smorgan@tenhoor.as.ua.edu

Naidoo, Jamie

Associate professor, School of Library and Information Studies 205/348-1518 jcnaidoo@slis.ua.edu

Naidoo, Jamie

associate and Foster-EBSCO endowed professor, School of Library and Information Studies 205/348-1518 jcnaidoo@slis.ua.edu

Neggers, Yasmin

professor of human nutrition 205/348-4706 (o), 205/348-6157 (o), 205/553-5744 (h) yneggers@ches.ua.edu Zinc supplements and pregnancy outcomes, Food

Page 1 of 212