For the latest news, events and announcements about UA, please visit https://www.ua.edu/news.

The new UA News Center features news channels specifically for students, faculty and staff, media and research. The UA News Center uses video, photography and narrative to tell the UA story to our various audiences. It also serves as a hub for finding information on campus resources and calendars. http://uanews.ua.edu will remain in place temporarily as an archive, but will no longer be updated.

The University of Alabama

Archive for the ‘Environment’ Expertise

Addy, Samuel N.

director and research economist Center for Business & Economic Research 205/348-6191 (o) saddy@cba.ua.edu Economic development, economic impact analysis; natural resource and environmental economics, applied general equilibrium analysis and modeling,  project evaluation

Aharon, Paul

Professor and Ray E. Loper Endowed Chair of Geological Sciences   205/348-2528 paharon@geo.ua.edu

Andrus, Fred

associate professor of geological sciences 205/348-5177 fandrus@geo.ua.edu

Cherry, Julia

assistant professor of New College and biological sciences 205/348-8416 julia.cherry@ua.edu

Clark, John

assistant professor of biological sciences 205/348-1826 jlc@ua.edu

Donahoe, Rona J.

professor of geological sciences 205/348-1879 (o), 205/758-9875 (h) rdonahoe@geo.ua.edu

Fridley, Ken

professor and head of civil, construction and environmental engineering 205/348-3585 (o) kfridley@eng.ua.edu Forest products industry, Timber as alternative material for building, Wood engineering, Construction engineering, Engineering structures

Grace, Andrew

director, documenting justice, telecommunication and film department 205/348-8245 agrace@ua.edu Druid City Garden Project, reasons for urban agriculture

Han, Luoheng

associate dean, College of Arts and Sciences; professor of geography 205/348-7007 lhan@as.ua.edu Water and water quality, remote sensing using satellite imagery

Johnson, Pauline

professor of civil, construction and environmental engineering 205/348-3577 (o) paulinej@eng.ua.edu Pollution prevention, Water and wastewater treatment, Water quality

Johnson, Philip

associate professor of civil, construction and environmental engineering 205/348-2669 (o), 205/861-4714 (c) pjohnson@eng.ua.edu Alternative fuels, Coalbed methane deposits, Petroleum production, Petroleum drilling, Hazardous waste clean-up, Methane gas, Earthquakes, Structures, Construction engineering In 2010, Dr. Johnson was featured extensively throughout national print and broadcast media as one of the nation’s petroleum experts about the Gulf Oil […]

Kuhajda, Bernie

scientific collections manager, biological sciences 205/348-1822 bkuhajda@bama.ua.edu

Mecredy, Randy

director, Alabama Museum of Natural History 205/348-2136 rmecredy@bama.ua.edu Natural history, Alabama history

Midkiff, K. Clark

professor and interim head of mechanical engineering director of the Center for Advanced Vehicle Technologies 205/348-1645 (o) cmidkiff@eng.ua.edu Alternative fuels, Hybrid vehicles, Energy conversion, Energy conservation, Thermal energy storage systems, Solar energy Dr. Midkiff is the director of the Center for Advanced Vehicle Technologies, an interdisciplinary research center that assists in the development of efficient, […]

Mortazavi, Behzad

assistant professor of biological sciences 251/861-2141 bmortazavi@ua.edu

Park, Duk-Won “Duke”

professor emeritus of civil, construction and environmental engineering 205/348-1679 (o) dpark@eng.ua.edu Mine ventilation, Mining, Natural resources, Levee construction

Richardson, James A.

associate professor of civil, construction and environmental engineering 205/348-1708 (o) jrichardson@eng.ua.edu Seismic response of structures, Bridge maintenance, Bridges, Bridge safety, Natural disasters, Structures

Rissler, Leslie

associate professor of biological sciences 205/348-4052 rissler@as.ua.edu

Shaughnessy, Kevin

associate professor of chemistry 205/348-4435 kshaughn@bama.ua.edu

Sobecky, Patricia

professor and chair of biological sciences 205/348-1409 psobecky@as.ua.edu

Steinberg, Michael

associate professor, New College and geography 205/348-0349 mksteinberg@as.ua.edu Environment, ecology, birds, ornithology, geography, fishing, outdoor recreation Steinberg’s interests focus on the human dimensions of environmental change and conservation, with a special interest in endangered species. His book on the ivory-bill woodpecker, “Stalking the Ghost Bird,” is out from LSU Press.  

Ward, Amy

professor of biology and director of the Center for Freshwater Studies 205/348-1796 (o), 205/556-7578 (h) award@biology.as.ua.edu

Williamson, Derek

associate professor of civil, construction and environmental engineering 205/348-9931 (o) dwilliamson@eng.ua.edu Clean air operations, Air quality

Zheng, Chunmiao

professor of geological sciences 205/348-0579 czheng@ua.edu