For the latest news, events and announcements about UA, please visit https://www.ua.edu/news.

The new UA News Center features news channels specifically for students, faculty and staff, media and research. The UA News Center uses video, photography and narrative to tell the UA story to our various audiences. It also serves as a hub for finding information on campus resources and calendars. http://uanews.ua.edu will remain in place temporarily as an archive, but will no longer be updated.

The University of Alabama

Archive for the ‘Education & Family’ Expertise

Adams, Natalie

professor, instructional leadership and social foundations of education department of educational leadership, policy, and technology studies 205/348-1161 (o) nadams@ua.edu Women’s issues, gender issues in education, middle school transition, cheerleading      

Benson, Joe

Interim Provost 205/348-4566 (o) joe.benson@ua.edu

Bissell, Kimberly

associate dean for research, College of Communication and Information Sciences Director, Institute for Communication and Information Research 205/348-1235 kbissell@ua.edu Spin, boot camp, weight training, zumba, children running 5Ks, children running half marathons, fun ways for children to get physically active

Black, Sheila

associate professor of psychology sblack@psych.as.ua.edu 205/348-8648 Psychology, cognitive aging, how memory and cognitive processes change with age, aging/elderly

Blum, Alan

Professor and the Gerald Leon Wallace Chair in Family Medicine 205/348-1372 (o) ablum@cchs.ua.edu Dr. Blum is one of the nation’s foremost authorities on tobacco and its effects on society. A renowned family medicine educator, practitioner and innovator, Blum founded, in 1977, DOC (Doctors Ought to Care), a national non-profit organization assisting in school health education and in community […]

Brooks, Rebecca

coordinator of audiological services 205/348-7131 rpbrooks@cd.as.ua.edu  

Cevasco, Andrea

assistant professor of music therapy 205/348-7804 acevasco@music.ua.edu Music therapy, treatment of infants

Clark, Chandra

instructor of telecommunication and film Chandra.Clark@ua.edu Local, state and national media; media decision-making; impact of social media in news gathering; marketing of news outlets through social media; distracted driving by teens; distracted driving by adults

Cordes, David

professor and head of the department of computer science director of Freshman Engineering Program 205/348-6363 (o) cordes@cs.ua.edu Software engineering, Programming languages, Wireless communication systems, Science education, Engineering education

Cummings, Meredith

director, Alabama Scholastic Press Association and Multicultural Journalism Workshop 205/348-2772 mccummings1@ua.edu

Curtner-Smith, Mary Liz

associate professor of human development and family studies 205/348-8151 (o), 205/333-5964 (h) mcurtner@ches.ua.edu Children who are bullies, Children in divorced families, Children’s health, Helping adolescents make decisions about wearing makeup, Dating, Corporal punishment

Francko, David

dean, Graduate School; associate provost 205/348-8280 (o) dfrancko@ua.edu

Garner, Margaret

associate professor of family medicine; assistant dean for health education & outreach 205/348-2880 mgarner@cchs.ua.edu A clinical nutritionist, Garner’s interests include: children’s health, eating disorders, diet, obesity, weight-reduction methods, obese children, dietary management of diabetes, high cholesterol, obesity, cardiovascular disease, making the most of fast foods and convenience products; nutrition and wellness  

Grace, Andrew

director, documenting justice, telecommunication and film department 205/348-8245 agrace@ua.edu Druid City Garden Project, reasons for urban agriculture

Gray, Jeff

associate professor of computer science 205/348-2847 (o) gray@cs.ua.edu Computer science education, software engineering, mobile app development Dr. Jeff Gray is a national leader in computer science education. With several National Science Foundation grants, Gray has worked with the College Board and Google to craft a new Advanced Placement computer-science course designed to increase secondary and […]

Gregg, Roy

director of the cooperative education program 205/348-6422 (o) rtgregg@eng.ua.edu Academic and industrial partnerships, Mercedes-Benz U.S. International Roy Gregg directs the Cooperative Education Program partnering students with employers throughout the nation.

Griffin, Darrin J.

 Dr. Darrin J. Griffin Assistant Professor, Department of Communication Studies Office phone: 205/632-0777 Email: djgriffin1@ua.edu Areas of expertise: Lying, & Deception; Deafness; Instructional Communication

Hamilton, James

associate professor of psychology 205/348-0189 jhamilto@gp.as.ua.edu Hamilton studies medical illness behavior, with a particular focus on excessive or gratuitous illness behavior.

Howell, Rebecca

assistant professor of criminal justice 205/348-2396 rjhowell@ua.edu Juvenile justice and delinquency; criminological theory testing; drug use; student learning

Hudson, Carmen

assistant professor of human development and family studies 205/348-8149 (o), 205/348-6158 (o), 205/553-0541 (h) chudson@ches.ua.edu Pre-school child development, Age-appropriate toys, Behavior, Holidays, Christmas, Children’s health

Karr, Charles L.

dean, College of Engineering 205/348-6405 (o) ckarr@eng.ua.edu Engineering education, Aerospace engineering, Math education for engineering

Lane, Ralph

professor of human nutrition 205/348-8128 (o), 205/348-6157 (o), 205/333-1141 (h) rlane@ches.ua.edu Children’s health, Children’s nutrition, Food, Cereals, Beverages, Breakfast cereals, Sugar in beverages, Halloween, Candy and healthy holiday treats

Leeper, James

professor of community and rural medicine 205/348-1355 jleeper@cchs.ua.edu Rural medicine, infant mortality, teen suicide, children’s health

Lochman, John

professor and Doddridge Saxon Chair of Clinical Psychology 205/348-7678 (o) jlochman@gp.as.ua.edu Dr. Lochman is the director of the Center for Prevention of Youth Behavior Problems. He has authored more than 210 scientific articles, chapters and books, and this work has primarily focused on the causes and consequences of highly aggressive behavior in childhood. He also is a […]

Naidoo, Jamie

associate and Foster-EBSCO endowed professor, School of Library and Information Studies 205/348-1518 jcnaidoo@slis.ua.edu

Page 1 of 212