For the latest news, events and announcements about UA, please visit

The new UA News Center features news channels specifically for students, faculty and staff, media and research. The UA News Center uses video, photography and narrative to tell the UA story to our various audiences. It also serves as a hub for finding information on campus resources and calendars. will remain in place temporarily as an archive, but will no longer be updated.

The University of Alabama

Capstone Leadership Academy Will Bring Talented High School Students to UA

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – A select group of high school sophomores invited from across the state will be attending the fifth annual Capstone Leadership Academy at The University of Alabama on March 8-9.

The group of more than 100 students will be addressed by guest speakers and participate in discussions that focus on the academy’s theme of values, vision and voice.

Ashley Getwan, who led the UA Greek Relief effort following Tuscaloosa’s devastating April 2011 tornado, will talk about the students’ leadership efforts following the storm in her keynote address at the kickoff dinner on Thursday, March 8, at 6:30 p.m. in Smith Hall.

Speakers on Friday, March 9, in the Ferguson Center Ballroom include Lew Burdette, president of The King’s Home, at 8:45 a.m., Dr. Lowell Davis, UA assistant dean of students at 10:15 a.m., and Anne Walker Irwin, UA student leader and University Steward, at 1 p.m.

The students are first nominated by administrators from each participating high school in the fall. The nominees were asked to submit a resume, transcript and an essay for evaluation by the Capstone Council, who then selected the student attendees.

Capstone Council is a volunteer organization that consists of former campus leaders from the 1970s. Former Capstone Men and Women, SGA officers, the Office of the President and the Honors College host the event, begun under the leadership of the late Jean O’Connor-Snyder, sponsor of Capstone Men and Women throughout the 1970s.

The council will award the Jean O’Connor Snyder Scholarship to an attending student.

The following students were invited to participate in this year’s Leadership Academy:

Name                                              High School                                             Home County

Jaxon Aaron Curry High School Walker
Kennedy Adams Lauderdale County High School Lauderdale
Dylan Akin Piedmont High School Calhoun
AnnKay Alexander UMS-Wright Preparatory School Mobile
Chloe Allen Central High School Lauderdale
Railey Baker Benjamin Russell High School Tallapoosa
William Balliet Indian Springs High School Shelby
Kindra Barksdale Fyffe High School Dekalb
Evelyn Baxley Indian Springs High School Shelby
Grace Beasley Florence High School Lauderdale
Jacob Bensinger Charles Henderson High School Pike
Anna Bonner Handley High School Randolph
Jessica Boyd Autauga Academy Autauga
Lyla Brady St. Pauls Episcopal School Mobile
Steven Breaux Spain Park High School Shelby
Michayla Brown St. Bernard Preparatory Cullman
Robert Brown Grissom High School Madison
Ashleigh Christopher Patrician Academy Choctaw
William Cole Jacksonville High School Calhoun
Brittany Collins Central High School Tuscaloosa
William Coston Pike Liberal Arts School Pike
Haley Crosby Central High School Lauderdale
Austin Davis St. Luke’s Episcopal School Mobile
Colin Edwards Westbrook Christian School Etowah
Jessica Elder Spanish Fort High School Baldwin
Adam Engle Austin High School Morgan
Olivia Etchison St. Luke’s Episcopal School Mobile
Georgia Gay Cold Springs High School Cullman
Kennedy George North Sand Mountain High School Jackson
Bailey Gray Spain Park High School Shelby
Alexa Green Winston County High School Winston
Matthew Griffitt Sylacauga High School Talladega
Elizabeth Hale Homewood High School Jefferson
Shaun Hamilton George Washington Carver High School Montgomery
Bailee Hammock Corner High School Jefferson
Montel Harkness Greene County High School Greene
Larry Harold Fort Dale Academy Butler
Grant Henkey Vestavia Hills High School Jefferson
Ashley Herring Citronelle High School Mobile
Chase Holland Russellville High School Franklin
Jacob Holmes Slocomb High School Geneva
Cecilia Hughes Geneva High School Geneva
Ernest Hundley Holt High School Tuscaloosa
Jared  Hunter Saint James School Montgomery
Ayanna Jacobs-El Alabama School of Fine Arts Jefferson
Katherine Jeffries St. Pauls Episcopal School Mobile
Eric Johns The Altamont School Jefferson
Brianna Johnson Marion County High School Marian
Joseph Kersteins Pope John Paul II Catholic High School Madison
Natalie Kidd Briarwood Christian School Shelby
Stephanie Kubik Douglas High School Marshall
Jordan Kurtz Ramsay High School Jefferson
Aaron Landis Shoals Christian School Lauderdale
Raina Lanier Beauregard High School Lee
Christian Lowman Mountain Brook High School Jefferson
Maegan Lynch Citronelle High School Mobile
Marcus Marshall, Jr. Opelika High School Lee
Houston Martin Ashville High School St. Clair
Isabella Martinez Winston County High School Winston
William Massey Sheffield High School Colbert
Kristin Mazingo Jemison High School Chilton
Jamie McCormick Pleasant Grove High School Jefferson
Matthew McCulloch Opp High School Covington
Harrison McDonald American Christian Academy Tuscaloosa
William McLemore Montgomery Academy Montgomery
Austin Minor Chilton County High School Chilton
John Mitchell Prattville High School Autauga
William Mitchell Prattville High School Autauga
Matthew Molock Ohatchee High School Calhoun
Ashli Morris Athens High School Limestone
Mariah Morton Maplesville High School Chilton
Tyler Newell Hamilton High School Marion
Samuel Pannell Susan Moore High School Blount
Laken Patterson Thorsby High School Chilton
John Peppers Susan Moore High School Blount
John Coleman Poole Fort Dale Academy Butler
Marguerite Powers McGill Toolen Catholic High School Mobile
BritleaRakestraw Boaz High School Marshall
James Ridgway, Jr. Chelsea High School Shelby
Savannah Robbins Marion County High School Marion
Josiah Robinson Parrish High School Walker
Miranda Rodgers Ardmore High School Limestone
Xavier Scruggs J.O. Johnson High School Madison
Alexandria Selman Red Level High School Covington
James Sherman Montgomery Catholic Preparatory School Montgomery
Emily Sutton Hamilton High School Marion
Matthew Tackett Pickens Academy Pickens
Selena Tarvin Sardis High School Etowah
KaitlynTheriot Saint James School Montgomery
Braeden Turner Fruitdale High School Washington
BrannenUhlman Fayette County High School Fayette
Alicia Underwood Boaz High School Marshall
Monica Underwood Providence Classical School Madison
Tess Vessels East Limestone High School Limestone
Lita Waggoner Alabama School of Fine Arts Shelby
Jacob Walton Brooks High School Lauderdale
LaTimberly Washington Demopolis High School Marengo
Joseph Watson South Choctaw Academy Choctaw
Cammie Weaver Opp High School Covington
Avery Werther Spanish Fort High School Baldwin
Mary Katherine Wesson Northside High School Tuscaloosa
Joyia Williams Pleasant Grove High School Jefferson
Andrew Winland Whitesburg Christian Academy Madison


The University of Alabama, a student-centered research university, is experiencing significant growth in both enrollment and academic quality. This growth, which is positively impacting the campus and the state's economy, is in keeping with UA's vision to be the university of choice for the best and brightest students. UA, the state's flagship university, is an academic community united in its commitment to enhancing the quality of life for all Alabamians.