For the latest news, events and announcements about UA, please visit https://www.ua.edu/news.

The new UA News Center features news channels specifically for students, faculty and staff, media and research. The UA News Center uses video, photography and narrative to tell the UA story to our various audiences. It also serves as a hub for finding information on campus resources and calendars. http://uanews.ua.edu will remain in place temporarily as an archive, but will no longer be updated.

The University of Alabama

UA Experts Ready to Discuss Elections, Issues With Media

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. — University of Alabama experts stand prepared to field questions from the media on the upcoming South Carolina, Florida and Alabama primaries, as well as issues affecting the general election. For more source ideas, contact Richard LeComte, media relations, rllecomte@ur.ua.edu, 205/348-3782.

UA sources include:

Presidential politics, Alabama and the South: Dr. Richard C. Fording, chair of political science, studies and comments on Alabama and U.S. politics, as well as policies addressing poverty and immigration. You can reach Fording at rcfording@as.ua.edu, 205/348-5980 (e-mail preferred).

Congressional elections: Dr. Stephen Borrelli, professor of political science, can talk about the upcoming House and Senate races and how they will affect the next administration. Borrelli can be reached at 205/348-3802 or sborrell@bama.ua.edu.

Foreign relations: Dr. Doug Gibler, professor of political science, can give insights into the foreign-policy issues surrounding the campaign. You can reach Gibler at dmgibler@bama.ua.edu (e-mail preferred).

Health care: Dr. Dana Patton, assistant professor of political science, can discuss health-care policy and how it will affect the election. She also is an expert on women in politics. Contact her at djpatton@as.ua.edu or 205/348-5980 (e-mail preferred).

Political parties and voting: Dr. Carol Cassel, professor of political science, specializes in public opinion, voting behavior and political parties. Cassel can be reached at 205/348-3805 or ccassel@bama.ua.edu.

The Web and the campaign: Dr. Jennifer Greer, associate professor and chair of the journalism department, will offer insights on campaigns’ use of the Internet and the role of blogs, Facebook, YouTube and other alternative forms of communications. Greer can be reached at 205/348-6304, 205/394-3194 or jdgreer@ua.edu.

Political Speech: Dr. Jason Edward Black, assistant dean of the College of Communication and Information Sciences, researches in the area of African-American discourses and U.S. nationalism. He may be reached at 205/657-6755 or jason.black@ua.edu.

Crime: Dr. Mark M. Lanier, chair of the criminal justice department, can discuss issues related to crime, law enforcement and society. Contact Lanier at 205/348-6846 or mmlanier@as.ua.edu.

Women in politics: Dr. Janis Edwards has written extensively on the roles and rhetoric of women candidates and first ladies and their representation in political cartoons and other media formats. She may be reached at 205/348-8074 or jedwards@bama.ua.edu.

Economic issues: Dr. Sam Addy, director of The University of Alabama’s Center for Business and Economic Research, and Ahmad Ijaz, economic analyst, are ready to field questions concerning the economy, which are proving key to the presidential campaign. Addy can be reached at 205/348-6191 or saddy@cba.ua.edu; Ijaz can be reached at 205/348-2955 or aijaz@cba.ua.edu.

The University of Alabama, a student-centered research university, is experiencing significant growth in both enrollment and academic quality. This growth, which is positively impacting the campus and the state's economy, is in keeping with UA's vision to be the university of choice for the best and brightest students. UA, the state's flagship university, is an academic community united in its commitment to enhancing the quality of life for all Alabamians.