The University of Alabama

UA Experts on Second Oil Rig Explosion

As a second oil rig explodes in the Gulf, The University of Alabama offers a range of experts who could comment on some of the questions arising.  Many of these experts were quoted extensively following the late April explosion in the Gulf and the ongoing clean-up efforts. For more information or assistance in finding a source, media may call the Office of Media Relations at 205/348-5320 or email candreen@ur.ua.edu or cbryant@ur.ua.edu.

Petroleum Systems and Engineering

Ibrahim Cemen, Professor and Chair, Department of Geological Sciences
Area of expertise:  Oil and gas exploration
(205) 348-8019
icemen@geo.ua.edu
http://www.geo.ua.edu/

Peter Clark, Associate Professor, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering
Area of expertise:  Oil production and petroleum engineering
(205) 348-1682
pclark@eng.ua.edu
http://che.eng.ua.edu/people/faculty_details.asp?ID=23

David Dixon, Robert Ramsay Professor of Chemistry, Department of Chemistry
Area of expertise: Computational analysis of gas hydrate formation
(205) 348-8441
dadixon@bama.ua.edu
http://www.bama.ua.edu/~chem/people/faculty/dixon/dixon.html

Ryan L. Hartman, Assistant Professor, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering
Area of expertise: Oil and gas exploration and production
(205) 348-1696
rhartman@eng.ua.edu
http://che.eng.ua.edu/people/faculty_details.asp?ID=43

Philip Johnson, Associate Professor, Department of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering
Area of expertise:  Petroleum engineering
(via UA Media Relations, 205/348-5320)
pjohnson@eng.ua.edu
http://ce.eng.ua.edu/people/resumes/philip.pdf

Biologic Impacts

Julia Cherry, Assistant Professor New College/Biological Sciences
Area of expertise: Coastal wetland ecosystem dynamics
(205) 348-8416
julia.cherry@ua.edu
http://bsc.ua.edu/cherry.htm

Ryan Sponseller, Assistant Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
Area of expertise: Ecology of aquatic habitats
(205) 348-1795
rasponseller@bama.ua.edu
http://bsc.ua.edu/sponseller.htm

Matthew Jenny, Assistant Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
Area of expertise:  Molecular toxicology
(205) 348-8225
mjjenny@bama.ua.edu
http://bsc.ua.edu/jenny.htm

Patricia Sobecky, Professor and Chair, Department of Biological Sciences
Area of expertise: Marine microbiology
(205) 348-8330
psobecky@as.ua.edu
http://bsc.ua.edu/sobecky.htm

Julie Olson, Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
Area of expertise:  Marine microbial community biodiversity; coral ecology
(205) 348-2633
jolson@bama.ua.edu
http://bsc.ua.edu/olson.htm

Behzad Mortazavi, Assistant Professor, Department of Biological Sciences/Dauphin Island Sea Lab
Area of expertise:  Biogeochemistry, carbon and nitrogen cycling
(251) 861-2141 ext: 2189
bmortazavi@ua.edu
http://bama.ua.edu/~bmortazavi/Mortazavi_Lab/Welcome.html

Jennifer Edmonds, Assistant Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
Area of expertise:  Microbial nutrient cycling
(205) 348-6805
jwedmonds@as.ua.edu
http://bsc.ua.edu/edmonds.htm

Robert Findlay, Bishop Professor of Freshwater Biology, Department of Biological Sciences
Area of expertise: Bioremediation, microbial community response to pollution
(205) 348-4167
rfindlay@biology.as.ua.edu
http://bsc.ua.edu/findlay.htm

Water Quality Impacts

Joe Brown, Assistant Professor, New College/Department of Biological Sciences
Area of expertise:  Environmental microbiology
(205) 348-0418
joebrown@bama.ua.edu
http://bsc.ua.edu/brown.htm

Rona Donahoe, Professor, Department of Geological Sciences
Area of expertise:  Inorganic environmental geochemistry
(205) 348-1879
rdonahoe@geo.ua.edu
http://www.geo.ua.edu/faculty/rdonahoe.php

Luoheng Han, Professor and Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Area of expertise: Remote sensing of water quality
(205) 348-7007
lhan@as.ua.edu
http://geography.ua.edu/people/faculty/han/

Pauline Johnson, Professor, Department of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering
Area of expertise:  Environmental and water resources engineering
(205) 348-3577
paulinej@eng.ua.edu
http://ce.eng.ua.edu/people/faculty_details.asp?ID=47

Bob Pitt, Cudworth Professor of Urban Water Systems, Department of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering
Area of expertise: Environmental and water resources engineering
(205) 348-2684
rpitt@eng.ua.edu
http://ce.eng.ua.edu/people/faculty_details.asp?ID=49

Derek Williamson, Associate Professor, Department of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering
Area of expertise: Environmental engineering; pollutant fate/transport
(205) 348-9931
dwilliamson@eng.ua.edu
http://ce.eng.ua.edu/people/faculty_details.asp?ID=48

Economic and Infrastructure Impacts

Sam Addy, Director and Associate Research Economist, Center for Business and Economic Research
Area of expertise:  Economic impact
(205) 348-6191
saddy@cba.ua.edu
http://cber.cba.ua.edu/director.html

Seth Appiah-Opoku, AICP, Associate Professor, Geography Department
Area of Expertise: Environmental Impact Assessment and Planning
Tel: (205) 348-2731
sappia@bama.ua.edu
http://web.as.ua.edu/geography/people/faculty/appiah-opoku/index.php

C. Hobson Bryan, Professor, Department of Geography
Areas of Expertise: Assessing the human impacts of environmental alteration
Phone: (205) 348-1950
hbryan@bama.ua.edu
http://geography.ua.edu/people/faculty/bryan/index.php

Michael Conaway, Capstone Poll Coordinator, Institute for Social Science Research
Areas of expertise: Valuation of Natural Resource Injuries, Natural Resource Damage Assessments
(205) 348-9649
Michael.Conaway@ua.edu
http://www.darrp.noaa.gov/economics/pdf/COSFinalReport_0396.pdf

Brian Davis, Alabama Small Business Development Center
Areas of Expertise: Small Businesses, Training, Counseling for Small Businesses Following Disaster
(205) 348-1582
bdavis@aitc.ua.edu
www.asbdc.org

David Hale, William White McDonald Family Distinguished Faculty Fellow; Director, MIS Program and AISCE
Area of expertise:  Infrastructure systems command and control systems; crisis mitigation and response
(205) 348-5525
dhale@cba.ua.edu
http://www.cba.ua.edu/mis/faculty/dhale

Ahmad Ijaz, Director of Economic Forecasting, Center for Business and Economic Research
Area of expertise: Economic impact
(205) 348-2955
aijaz@cba.ua.edu
http://www.cba.ua.edu/personnel/AhmadIjaz.html

Spill Cleanup

Jason E. Bara, Assistant Professor, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering
Area of expertise: Oil & gas processing, chemical separations, remediation.
(205) 348-6836
jbara@eng.ua.edu
http://che.eng.ua.edu/people/faculty_details.asp?ID=42

Robin D. Rogers, Robert Ramsay Chair of Chemistry, Department of Chemistry
Area of expertise: Chemical separations, analyses, remediation efforts
(205) 348-4323
RDRogers@as.ua.edu
http://bama.ua.edu/~rdrogers/

Shane Street, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry
Area of expertise:  Chemical separations, analysis and remediation
(205) 348-5957
street@bama.ua.edu
http://www.bama.ua.edu/~chem/people/faculty/street/street.html

Geoffrey Tick, Associate Professor, Department of Geological Sciences
Area of Expertise:  Assessment and remediation of contaminated aquifers
(205)348-4293
gtick@geo.us.edu
http://www.geo.ua.edu/faculty/tick.php

C. Heath Turner, Associate Professor, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering
Area of Expertise: Computer simulation of oil and water mixtures at high pressure
(205)348-1733
hturner@eng.ua.edu
http://che.eng.ua.edu/people/faculty_details.asp?ID=33

Chunmiao Zheng, Professor of Hydrogeology, Department of Geological Sciences
Area of expertise: Assessment and remediation of contaminated aquifers
(205)348-0579
czheng@ua.edu
http://hydro.geo.ua.edu

Communications following Disaster

Karla Gower, Associate Professor, Department of Advertising and Public Relations, Director of the Plank Center
Area of Expertise: Public Relations
(205)348-0132
gower@apr.ua.edu
http://www.apr.ua.edu/gower.html

Safety and Health Issues for Workers, Spill Responders

Darrell L. Dechant, Executive Director, Division of Environmental & Industrial Programs, College of Continuing Studies
Area of Expertise: Safety and Health Training, OSHA Regulations
(205) 348-8975
ddechant@ccs.ua.edu
www.alabamasafestate.ua.edu



The University of Alabama, a student-centered research university, is experiencing significant growth in both enrollment and academic quality. This growth, which is positively impacting the campus and the state's economy, is in keeping with UA's vision to be the university of choice for the best and brightest students. UA, the state's flagship university, is an academic community united in its commitment to enhancing the quality of life for all Alabamians.