For the latest news, events and announcements about UA, please visit

The new UA News Center features news channels specifically for students, faculty and staff, media and research. The UA News Center uses video, photography and narrative to tell the UA story to our various audiences. It also serves as a hub for finding information on campus resources and calendars. will remain in place temporarily as an archive, but will no longer be updated.

The University of Alabama

Mobile Area Residents Among UA Graduates

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – The University of Alabama awarded some 1,231 degrees to students in August.

With this graduating class, UA has awarded more than 194,000 degrees since its founding in 1831 as the state’s first public university.

A joint May-August commencement ceremony was held in May in Bryant-Denny Stadium. Sela Ward, award winning actress and UA alumna, was the featured speaker.

The following students from the Mobile area were listed as candidates to receive August degrees:


FAIRHOPE- Kyle Angelo Lo Porto, Lucas Ramsey Wright

GULF SHORES- David Scott Atchley, Catherine Elizabeth Lemon

HOPE HULL- Cherqueta Romeca Claiborn


MCINTOSH- Darnisha Davis

MOBILE- James McMurtrie Backes III, Charles Hardy Demeranville, Alice Ann Ivas, Jason Aaron Partain, Christopher Fredrick Rux, Mary Kathryn Walker

OPP-Betsy S. Prior

ORANGE BEACH- Mindi Latreva Green

SARALAND- Jason Andrew Curtis

SPANISH FORT- Corey Kathleen Barrow

THEODORE- Lindsey Faye Cannon


ANDALUSIA- Ella Adeline Gantt, Jessica Brooke Kelley, Kalli Michelle Smith

BAY MINETTE- James P. Lyles

BIGBEE- Tywonor Abalsom Boman

CAMDEN- Charles Edwin Tait

DAPHNE- Michael A Baker, Terri Lynn Bedsole, Michael Brad Edwards, Patricia L Moore

DEMOPOLIS- Jeffrey P. Davidson, Devon Scott, Emily Collins Turner

EIGHT MILE- Tyesha La’Shanta Spraggins, Jarrod Dante’ Williams

FAIRHOPE- Jonathan Ted Leiser, Corey Bennett Lipscomb

FLORALA- Lauren Kristen Belcher

GROVE HILL- Jeremy Charles Smith

GULF SHORES- Austin Lawrence Dalgo, Sean Hanson O’Donnell, Amanda Michelle Parker LOXLEY- Gregory Kent Eastburn Jr

MOBILE- Erin Bailey, James Eric Blackman, Linyuan Cai, Brandon Spitzer Dean, Christy Deanna Dobson, Weslee Paul Dubroc, Gerritt M. Gordon, Vivian Gaines Johnston, Sarah Jean Lewis, Crystal Lynn Lucas, Robert Todd McArthur, Brandon Douglas Otts, Gerald A. Peake III, Anna Caroline Pennington, Katherine Sigrid Pennington, Daniel Scott Pridgen, Christie Patricia Quindlen, Matthew Carlos Rogers, Anna Mary Saad, Courtney Lee Saad, Qasim Ahmad Shahid, Zarinah Wakeelah Shahid, Caldwell Rogers Terry

MONROEVILLE- Micheal Collin Brooks, Joel Heath Kyser

MONTROSE- Frank Lawson Norris

OPP-Francis N Henson, Jessica Suzanne Reynolds

ORANGE BEACH- Mary Kristen Deffenbaugh, Christine Marie Ward

PRICHARD- Mylon Quinton King

ROBERTSDALE- Nicholas S. Walden

SARALAND- Christina Louise Corley, Carrie M Dubose

SPANISH FORT- Stephanie Amanda Fuquay, Megan Lee Gunter

ST STEPHENS- Jonathan Melton Adams

THEODORE- Ashley Annette Byrd

THOMASVILLE- Christopher Kyle Knight, Anthony David Madison, Angela Kristia Robinson

WHATLEY- Ashley Dewayne Ivory, Johnny Earl Lynum

WILMER- Kathleen Ann Parnell

The University of Alabama, a student-centered research university, is experiencing significant growth in both enrollment and academic quality. This growth, which is positively impacting the campus and the state's economy, is in keeping with UA's vision to be the university of choice for the best and brightest students. UA, the state's flagship university, is an academic community united in its commitment to enhancing the quality of life for all Alabamians.