For the latest news, events and announcements about UA, please visit

The new UA News Center features news channels specifically for students, faculty and staff, media and research. The UA News Center uses video, photography and narrative to tell the UA story to our various audiences. It also serves as a hub for finding information on campus resources and calendars. will remain in place temporarily as an archive, but will no longer be updated.

The University of Alabama

Montgomery Area Residents Among UA Graduates

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – The University of Alabama awarded some 1,100 degrees at commencement ceremonies held Saturday, Dec. 18, in Coleman Coliseum on the Tuscaloosa campus.

Millard Fuller, founder and president of Habitat for Humanity International, was the featured speaker. Fuller, an alumnus of the UA School of Law, also received an honorary doctor of humane letters degree during the ceremony. Approximately 1,100 degrees were conferred.

With this graduating class, UA has awarded more than 191,000 degrees since its founding in 1831 as the state’s first public university. UA holds commencement ceremonies three times a year.

The following students from the Montgomery area were listed as candidates to receive degrees:


MONTGOMERY — Safiya Odinakaolisa Webber

WETUMPKA — Lloria Candis Munnerlyn



SELMA — Robert Andrew Turner Jr.

TUSKEGEE — Cynthia Yvette Lester


AKRON — Yolanda Denise Moore

AUBURN — Xin Feng, Adam Harrison Martin, Amy Elizabeth Woodruff

CAMP HILL — Kaleena Jenine Burkes

DOTHAN — Kenneth Scott Farmer, Jennifer Ann Grimmer

EUFAULA — Kavon Jermainte Franklin

GREENSBORO — Carole S. Hoffman

JACKSON — Andrew Wesley Warren

MIDWAY — Victoria Lashawn Walker

MONTGOMERY — Josephine Barker, Matthew Tyler Lomax

OPP — Crystal Gale Stephens

SELMA — Theresa Lightsey Hudson


ALEXANDER CITY — Abigail Elaine Brown, Thomas Byron Saunders Jr.

ANDALUSIA — Beth Ann Brannon, Matthew Scott Prater, Genevieve Darling Spurlin, Rebekah L. Wilkes

ATMORE — Ashley Shane Gibbs, Ryan D. Green, Stephanie Nicole Roberts

AUBURN — Jennifer E. Frith, Robert Dan Landers

BEATRICE — Patrick D. Odom, Melvin Maurice Stallworth

BRANTLEY — Jessica Elizabeth Smith

BREWTON — Candance S. Coleman

BUTLER — Mary-Kathryn Hutchinson

CHANCELLOR — Amy Elise Armstrong

CLANTON — April Shannon Henderson, Jason Kyle Mims

DEMOPOLIS — James Brady Dearman

DOTHAN — John Anthony Brown, Lauren Hall Colley, Joseph Leon Dasinger, Kristin Amalia Diaz, Marion Lothrop Hanahan, Katie Lee Maddox, Jessica Laura McLean, Amos Mitchell Newsome III, Neil Allen Simmons, Daniel Jared Stokes, Brooke Katherine Wilson

EAST BREWTON — Allen Hunter Hamric

ELBA — Joseph Michael Russell Jr.

ELMORE — Marion Melvin Waters

ENTERPRISE — Kathryn Diane Buck, Christopher F. Garcia, Jennifer Lee Harrison, Clayton E. Hollinhead, Anisa Yvonne Jones, Paula Francine Jones, Lindsay Brooke Morrison, Terry S. Stepp

EUFAULA — Christopher B. Blackmon, John West Martin Jr.

FORT DEPOSIT — Rufus Lee Lawhorn

GEORGIANA — Leslie R. Morgan

GILBERTOWN — Nora Leigh Carlisle

GLENWOOD — Lorie Leigh Powell

GREENVILLE — Ashley J. Brannon, Pamela Lynn McNeil

GROVE HILL — Jesse Daniel Creel, Seth Ericson Curtis, Joshua F. Dixon, Mistica Dawn Maples, John Scott Roe

HARTFORD — Melanie Michelle Simmons

HEADLAND — Allison Rebecca Deshazo, Megan Janet Richards

HUXFORD — Amy Catherine Ridgeway

JACKSON — Mary Elizabeth Bedwell, Andrea Helen Stewart

LAFAYETTE — Christopher Wade Busby

LINDEN — Abram Arnoldrous Hinson

LISMAN — Veronica Laticia Jackson

LOCKHART — Kathryn Amanda Bryan

MIDLAND CITY — Kristie Lynn Grimmer

MILLBROOK — Jacob Merrit Crawford

MONROEVILLE — Leslie Clare Hines

MONTGOMERY — Guy Don Cutting, Michelle Leigh Dickey, Elizabeth Vanessa Ely, Ramona Bell Franklin, Sheena Maureen Gamble, Slaton Stanford Jemison, Robert Allen Jones, Willie James Morgan Jr., Lacey L. Parrish, Amy Anita Price, Chadwick Burton Slaton, Kaneshia Latara Townsend

MOUNDVILLE — Josh A. Durden, Rachel Ellen Grooms, Eloise E. James, Jennifer Renee McCrory, Andrea L’Miya Mills, Antonius Dequan Mills, Joshua Guy Wilson

NOTASULGA — Shana E. Blackman, Nicole Hucherson

OPELIKA — Celia C. Allison, Tokema Flennor Watts

OPP — Betsy S. Prior

ORRVILLE — Christy Leigh Olinger

PHENIX CITY — Celeste M. Mott


PRATTVILLE — Brian Keith Davidson, Kenneth Michael Ferguson

SAWYERVILLE — James Eric Bailey

SELMA — Alan Wesley Grant, Elizabeth Schentell Irby, Charity Kealoha Johnson, David L. Labbe, Thearath Lee, Bradford L. Lovelady, Jeremy Craig Morgan, Jacob Brian Sanders, Alesha Danielle Williams, John Dale Williamson II

SWEET WATER — Kindra Lashaye Washington

THOMASVILLE — Darnisha Wilson Dickinson, Crystal Ann Johnson

THORSBY — Erin Rebecca Hayes

TROY — William Raymond Hudson, Rory Lamont Murphy

TUSKEGEE — Jasmine Amii Harrison

UNIONTOWN — Regina Latrice Arrington

URIAH — Tabitha Barber Odom

VALLEY — Mandy Lynn McCollough

VERBENA — Wesley Steven Edwards

WETUMPKA — Victoria Louise Belton, Harold Marcus McCray

WHATLEY — Liquita Januel Mobley

The University of Alabama, a student-centered research university, is experiencing significant growth in both enrollment and academic quality. This growth, which is positively impacting the campus and the state's economy, is in keeping with UA's vision to be the university of choice for the best and brightest students. UA, the state's flagship university, is an academic community united in its commitment to enhancing the quality of life for all Alabamians.